Public & Bank Holidays - 2021
Below is the list of public and bank holidays in Australia for year 2021.
Date Day Holiday Location Observed
01-JanFridayNew Year's DayALL
26-JanTuesdayAustralia DayALL
01-MarMondayLabour DayWestern Australia
08-MarMondayCanberra DayAustralian Capital Territory
Adelaide Cup DaySouth Australia
Eight Hours DayTasmania
Labour DayVictoria
02-AprFridayGood FridayALL
03-AprSaturdayEaster SaturdayAll States and Territories (except Tasmania, Western Australia)
04-AprSundayEaster SundayAustralian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria
05-AprMondayEaster MondayALL
25-AprSundayAnzac DayALL
26-AprMondayAnzac Day HolidayAustralian Capital Territory, Western Australia
03-MayMondayMay DayNorthern Territory
Labour DayQueensland
31-MayMondayReconciliation DayAustralian Capital Territory
07-JunMondayWestern Australia DayWestern Australia
14-JunMondayQueen's BirthdayACT, NSW, QLD, NT, SA, Vi
14-JunMondayVolunteer's DaySouth Australia
02-AugMondayBank HolidayNew South Wales
Picnic DayNorthern Territory
11-AugWednesdayRoyal Queensland Show DayQueensland (Brisbane area only)
27-SepMondayQueen's BirthdayWestern Australia
04-OctMondayLabour DayACT, NSW, QLD, SA
Queen's BirthdayQueensland
02-NovTuesdayMelbourne CupVictoria
24-DecFridayChristmas EveQueensland, South Australia, Northern Territory (part-day public holiday)
25-DecSaturdayChristmas DayALL
26-DecSundayBaxing DayALL
27-DecMondayChristmas Day (Observed Day)ALL
28-DecTuesdayBoxing Day (Observed Day)ALL (excluding South Australia)
Proclamation DaySouth Australia
31-DecFridayNew Year's EveNorthern Territory, South Australia

What is the BSB Number?

A Bank State Branch (BSB) number is the name used in Australia for a bank code, which is a branch identifier.
BSB is used as an identifier consisting of a six digit numerical code that identifies an individual branch of an Australian financial institution.
The BSB is normally used in association with the bank account number.
For international transfers a SWIFT identifier is used in addition to the BSB identifier and a bank account number.

The BSB number is made up of three parts:


  • The first two numbers (AA) specify the financial institution.
  • The third number (B) indicates the state where the branch is located.
  • The last three numbers (CCC) are the unique identifier for a branch.
Click here to get list of all financial institutions .

(Enter complete or partial BSB number to find details)

What is Swift Code?

SWIFT code (also known as ISO 9362, SWIFT-BIC, BIC code, SWIFT ID or SWIFT code) is a standard format of Business Identifier Codes approved by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). It is a unique identification code for both financial and non-financial institutions. (When assigned to a non-financial institution, a code may also be known as a Business Entity Identifier or BEI.) These codes are used when transferring money between banks, particularly for international wire transfers, and also for the exchange of other messages between banks. The codes can sometimes be found on account statements.
The SWIFT code is 8 or 11 characters, made up of:
  • 4 letters: Institution Code or bank code.
  • 2 letters: ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code
  • 2 letters or digits: location code
    • if the second character is "0", then it is typically a test BIC as opposed to a BIC used on the live network.
    • if the second character is "1", then it denotes a passive participant in the SWIFT network
    • if the second character is "2", then it typically indicates a reverse billing BIC, where the recipient pays for the message as opposed to the more usual mode whereby the sender pays for the message.
  • 3 letters or digits: branch code, optional ('XXX' for primary office)
Where an 8-digit code is given, it may be assumed that it refers to the primary office.
Here is the list of all the institutes having SWIFT codes in Australia. All SWIFT codes >>